

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

August 17, 2022, 1:30 P.M. 840 Research Parkway, Suite 504 Oklahoma City, OK 73104

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: Dr. Joanna Lein, Katherine Nations, John Daniel,

Kenneth Parker, Kathryn Szallar

COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT: Secretary Ryan Walters

OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES: Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Renée Launey-Rodolf, Jennifer Gambrell, Abby Murphey, Jerry Shay, Angie Bookout, Lecrecia Schmidt, David Kurt, and Ashley Poole

VISITORS: Dr. Michael Harris, Randall University; Karlee

Belle Gholson, Governor's Office; Dr. Brent Sykes, Randall University; Dr. Stephen Murphy, Cognia; Maria Cammack, OSDE; Catherine Boomer, OSDE; Dr. Juan D'Brot, National Center for the Improvement of Educational Assessment; Dr. Bryan Koerner, OSDE; Dr. Vickie Hinkle, Mid-America Christian University; Dr. Leon DeSecottier, Mid-America Christian University; Dr. Kezia Daniels, Oral Roberts University; Dr. Hallett Hullinger, Oral Roberts University; Dr. Kim Boyd, Oral Roberts

University

Call to Order: Dr. Joanna Lein called the meeting to order at 1:32 p.m.

Page 1 of 4

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Dr. Lein asked for the roll call to be taken. Five Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Mrs. Renee Launey-Rodolf: Mrs. Launey-Rodolf, OEQA Interim Executive Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting and introduced the newest Commissioner, Kathryn Szallar. Dr. Lein then asked for introductions from the meeting's visitors.

Approval of Minutes from the February 16, 2022 Commission Meeting: Mr. Parker made a motion to approve the minutes of the February 16, 2020 Commission meeting as submitted. Ms. Nations seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:approveMs. Nations:approveDr. Lein:approveMr. Parker:approveSecretary Walters:absentMs. Szallar:approve

Discussion and Action: Approval of a New Educator Preparation Program- Science Education-Randall University: Mrs. Launey-Rodolf explained that all new programs must align and meet Oklahoma standards and must be approved through the Commission. Dr. Michael Harris presented information on the new Science Education program at Randall University. Dr. Lein made a motion to approve the program. Ms. Nations seconded the motion. The nomination passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:approveMs. Nations:approveDr. Lein:approveMr. Parker:approveSecretary Walters:absentMs. Szallar:approve

Discussion and Action: Approval of a New Educator Preparation Program- School Counselor- Mid-America Christian University: Dr. Leon DeSecottier presented information on the new School Counselor program at Mid-America Christian University. Mr. Parker made a motion to approve the program. Mr. Daniel seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:approveMs. Nations:approveDr. Lein:approveMr. Parker:approveSecretary Walters:absentMs. Szallar:approve

Discussion and Action: Continued State Accreditation for Oral Roberts University: Mrs Launey-Rodolf explained that Oral Roberts had gone through national accreditation through CAEP. She gave information on the Frank Murray Award, which is an indication of a university's commitment to continuous improvement, demonstrated by a clean national accreditation report with no stipulations, and she told the Commission how many Oklahoma universities have received that award in the last four years. Mrs. Launey-Rodolf then told the Commission that Oral Roberts University's report is up for that award this fall. Dr. Kim Boyd presented information about ORU's state accreditation visit and the covid challenges overcome by the accreditation team. Ms. Nations

made a motion to continue accreditation for seven years. Dr. Lein seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:approveMs. Nations:approveDr. Lein:approveMr. Parker:approveSecretary Walters:absentMs. Szallar:abstain

Discussion and Action: Performance Levels and Cut Scores for the 11th Grade US History Content Assessment: Katherine Boomer, Assistant Executive Director of State Assessments, discussed the history of the Oklahoma School Testing Program. Dr. Juan D'Brot spoke about the process of standard setting. Dr. Stephen Murphy explained the steps taken by eleven Oklahoma educators to set the cut scores and how to interpret the results. Dr. Lein made a motion to approve the cut scores. Ms. Nations seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:approveMs. Nations:approveDr. Lein:approveMr. Parker:approveSecretary Walters:absentMs. Szallar:approve

Program Updates: Angie Bookout gave an update on school performance reviews, telling the Commission that the Crescent Public Schools review had been completed and presented to the CPS school board. David Kurt spoke about SB 783 and the ongoing transfer audits, as well as HB 3038, which amended transfer and capacity rules under certain conditions. Jennifer Gambrell spoke about the NBCT Summit from June. She then spoke about the change to National Board rules, allowing candidates to begin seeking National Board certification before meeting the previous three years of teaching requirement. She then talked about PPAT scholarships being awarded by OEQA, and upcoming training of PPAT Support Providers. Renee Launey-Rodolf informed the Commission that Cameron University, University of Central Oklahoma, Oklahoma Wesleyan University, and Randall University have upcoming accreditation visits. She spoke about a conference of the Deans and Directors this Fall that would bring them up to speed on state accreditation standards and expectations. She spoke about teacher certification test redevelopment progress. Dr. Lein asked about the search for a permanent Executive Director.

New Business: None.

Announcements and Informational Items: None

The meeting adjourned at 3:00 p.m. The minutes of the August 17, 2022 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted	with corrections
on October 19, 2022.	
Signed:	
Secretary Ryan Walters	Mrs. Renee Launey-Rodolf,
	OEQA Interim Executive Director